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Thursday, May 19, 2011

4 Steps to Control Anger


Many of us at times have been upset. Being upset is a part of life. Not all things will go the way you want them to go. When this upset turns to anger we must be careful how we handle ourselves


Here are 4 steps to control your anger and have it vent in proper ways.

1.  Count to 10 when you are getting upset. This is a normal way that we have all heard. We have heard it because it works if you practice it. Count to 10 and you may solve many of your outbursts before they happen.

2.  Do something that is physically exerting. Instead of punching a wall or a person, go run around the house, or mow the yard. Go for a walk, swim, bikeride, or shoot some hoops. This can provide a physical outlet for your emotions.

3.  Find something that is calming. Try deep breathing from your diaphragm. Take 10 deep calming breaths. This can be very soothing for most people. Combine this with step 1 and count to 10 slowly while breathing.

4.  Use "I" statements instead of "you" statements. I am frustrated because you didn't help with the  housework, instead of You didn't help me with the housework. This helps in multiple ways one is your way of thinking is a bit better and you also do not upset the other person so that both parties are angry. Which of course is not a good outcome for anyone.

You can combine multiple steps above to help alleviate anger. Don't hold it in, but don't blow up. Calm yourself down and talk about it by using step number 4 above. Go for a swim or a nice shower, and you can alleviate the stresses that cause unhealthy anger.

Tuesday, May 17, 2011

NEGOTIATING SALARY AT A JOB INTERVIEW

Studies have shown that a majority of employees abstain from negotiating their salaries before signing the offer letter. This disease, which experts call ‘Negotiating Impairment Syndrome’, affects most of us. NIS creates a mental block which renders you unable to negotiate your CTC, but at the same time, frustrates you no end at your own incapacity to stand up and complain against the guy who sits next to you and earns much more for doing much less

It is a serious ailment that affects even the most healthy-looking employee. Even worse, most employees are completely oblivious that they are suffering from it.

Five Common Reasons Why People Hesitate to Negotiate:

1. It is against my ethics.
2. Let me prove my worth first.
3. I need this offer badly, so I can afford to compromise.
4. What if negotiation backfires?
5. Currently I am unemployed and beggars can̢۪t be choosers.

There is no measuring device that can tell the employee about his market value. The onus lies on him to find out what his worth is. And unlike other commodities, one can̢۪t log onto the Internet to know his/her price tag. However, one must try to find out his real value by asking friends or friendly seniors to give their honest views. One must also find out what other organizations have been paying for the same position, and if need be, take professional help from a recruiting agency.

Before sitting down at the negotiation table, the candidate must know the limits of his position because many times an employer quotes a ballpark amount just to check how the candidate will respond.

Many types of evaluations will also help to find out the true value. Once the employee is sure that he can undertake some more responsibilities then he certainly deserves more. But it can be fruitful only when he takes an unbiased view of himself and weigh all pros and cons.

One executive said that in his first job he didn̢۪t negotiate his salary because of lack of any negotiating skills. Later he found out about the compensation packages and what the organization has been offering to a person with his kind of skills, He negotiated this time with success. This only emphasizes the need to know own market value. The recruiter will always quote the lowest possible price tag for the incumbent̢۪s expertise. Negotiating to convey that one knows his own worth and own price tag always helps in getting the right compensation.

Right Negotiation:

Like everything else, negotiating has two sides to it. Insisting on negotiating even when the organization is offering a decent package, then the employer-to-be might feel that all the candidate wants is money and that he is more of a mercenary rather that a dedicated worker. If whatever they offer is accepted then the message one might be conveying is that all he needs is a job, irrespective of his worth.

A positive aspect of negotiation is that the employee comes to know his worth; but on the negative front, the employee is perceived as a habitual negotiator if he continues to negotiate for a long time for no real reason. Conveying the point of view across the negotiation table gives a definite message. If negotiations are done in the right spirit and not aggressively, then it will be looked upon as positive, but if it appears pushy, it will not be appreciated.

Better compensation you can get when:

· You put in intensive research and get your facts right.
· You are not afraid because you have other options to choose from
· You are employed and are content with your current post.
· You are not seriously looking at hopping between jobs.

Negotiating salary is a tact or skill. One should always be able to justify his stand and support his point of view with valid arguments. However it is always better to take that bold step and ask for what one deserves instead of regretting later for what is not asked for.

Why should we respect Women...Mother Nature say, Why!




What mother nature expect from Us?


Mother Nature creates theis environment, food, water……..ect which are very essential to live on this earth. Nature is serving us with a lot of resources to enjoy, to eat, to drink, to play, to romance, to love, to hate and to live. Here is a question what Nature takes from us? It takes US. Yes, once we leave this physical body, which is enjoying the resources of nature it will be buried or burned, the 5 element of the nature extracts every part of us……………………….. It is a cycle of Soul.

In this cycle, at the end of every single episode Nature is taking us h serving required resources for years together, Now what Nature expects from us? It expects the “Procreation “

What does it mean?

It asks us to get the human beings to this world to make this cycle to exist. It says, give me more humans to serve with my resources to make this creation to exist.

The Mother Nature gave us resource to make this cycle existing, she is Mother, she is female for us she is “WOMEN”.

In deep understanding, “ALL the FEMALE LIVING THINGS ON THIS EARTH SHOULD BE RESPECTFUL”

Please respect and protect women who is the only resource to make this beautiful creation and cycle of Mother Nature to be continued……………………………………..

Importance Of Time

Time is the most important resource. It is a gift of nature to humanity. Time is captial and not renewable income. It is the most valuable gift, which can be offered by one to another. If we have time for our children, they acknowledge us as good parents. Similarly if we have time our subordinates to listen to their problems, they acknowledge us as good superiors. We have only 24 hours in a day and this cannot be stretched beyond 24 hours. Thus we can not make time but surely we can find time.

Time is really a wonderful thing. It can be defined satisfactorily. It has no beginning and no end. All things are born in time, grow in time and then decay and die in time. Time moves at its own pace. It cannot be commanded. It does not wait for kings or princess.It cannot be analyzed

We are conscious of the passing time and its importance. We have developed clocks and watches to indicate its flow. We have invented dates, days and years to indicate and measure it in our own way, but it is really indivisible and immeasurable.

People say time is money. But it is more precious than money. Money lost can be recovered, but not the time lost. A moment lost is lost for ever. Time is ever changing. Change is the law of nature. Nothing is independent of change or time. Man’s life is very short but the work is much and difficult. There are so much to do. Therefore, we should not waste even a single minute. Every breath, every second should be used properly and meaningfully.

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

The World's Biggest Public Companies

Below you’ll find interesting aerial photos of the 10 largest airports in the world—largest defined by the number of people passing through each year. These numbers are based on 2011 stats. Which is your favorite? Mine is the last one, number 10, in Hong Kong, which I’m eager to fly into! Also, am I the only one surprised that Atlanta is the busiest airport in the world, clocking 92,365,860 people last year, while JFK isn’t even in the top 10?

1. Hartsfield–Jackson Atlanta International


2. Beijing Capital International Airport


3. London Heathrow Airport




Read the full text here: http://www.mentalfloss.com/blogs/archives/123948#ixzz2Dj2xWu00
--brought to you by mental_floss!

4. O’Hare International Airport


5. Tokyo International Airport


6. Los Angeles International Airport


7. Paris Charles de Gaulle Airport


8. Dallas Fort Worth International Airport


9. Frankfurt Airport


10. Hong Kong International Airport




Read the full text here: http://www.mentalfloss.com/blogs/archives/123948#ixzz2Dj2q0jsx
--brought to you by mental_floss!

Is speaking in public your fear? | The English Forum

Is speaking in public your fear? The English Forum

Importance of English

No one denies the importance of English language in the present time as global language. It is clear that the English language has become more dominant around the world. In some countries it use as the mother tongue and ,other countries learn it as second language in their schools. This is make English widespread. In addition, many reasons which contributed to rising of English spreading . for example, use it for communication between people around the world, as well as, it is language of modern times. On other hand , English is the language of science and technology.


There is no doubt that, the English is language of communication between the people with different cultures . It is also the language of computers that help to communicate with the people around the world through Internet technology and e-mail. People who know English can deal with the Internet, which is regard information and communications revolution .

Also one of reasons that contributed to the spread of English that, it is the language of the modern era. Where the people are use it in various field of life such as, economy, e-commerce, medicine and aviation. In addition ,it is the language which use in the tourism and travel. This reasons motive the people to learn English .

One of the main reasons why the English is dominant in the present time, use it in the field of education by universities and institutes and, they use it in scientific research . It has become an addendum to the mastery of scientific individual stock. On the other hand, the English is an important requirement in most government jobs and private.

It is quite clear that English has become an necessity today. We need it in different fields of life . The English language has become easier to learn more than ever before with the availability of many sources to help people learn very easily. Such as the Internet, books and educational institutes which spread around the world.

A language is a systematic means of communication by the use of sounds or conventional symbols. It is the code we all use to express ourselves and communicate to others. It is a communication by word of mouth. It is the mental faculty or power of vocal communication. It is a system for communicating ideas and feelings using sounds, gestures, signs or marks. Any means of communicating ideas, specifically, human speech, the expression of ideas by the voice and sounds articulated by the organs of the throat and mouth is a language. This is a system for communication. A language is the written and spoken methods of combining words to create meaning used by a particular group of people.


Language, so far as we know, is something specific to humans, that is to say it is the basic capacity that distinguishes humans from all other living beings. Language therefore remains potentially a communicative medium capable of expressing ideas and concepts as well as moods, feelings and attitudes.

A set of linguists who based their assumptions of language on psychology made claims that language is nothing but ‘habit formation’. According to them, language is learnt through use, through practice. In their view, ‘the more one is exposed to the use of language, the better one learns’.

Written languages use symbols (characters) to build words. The entire set of words is the language’s vocabulary. The ways in which the words can be meaningfully combined is defined by the language’s syntax and grammar. The actual meaning of words and combinations of words is defined by the language’s semantics.

The latest and the most advanced discoveries and inventions in science and technology are being made in the universities located in the United States of America where English language is the means of scientific discourse.

The historical circumstances of India (having been ruled by the British for over two centuries) have given the Indians an easy access to mastering English language, and innumerable opportunities for advancement in the field of science and technology. Many Indians have become so skilled in English language and have won many international awards for creative and comparative literatures during the last few years. Sometime ago, an Indian author, Arundhati Roy, won the prestigious booker prize for her book “The God of Small Things”. Her book sold lakhs of copies all over the globe.

Over the years, English language has become one of our principal assets in getting a global leadership for books written by Indian authors and for films made by Indians in English language. A famous Indian movie maker Shekhar Kapoor’s film “Elizabeth” has got several nominations for Oscar Awards. It does not require any further argument to establish the advantage English language has brought to us at the international level.

English language comes to our aid in our commercial transactions throughout the globe. English is the language of the latest business management in the world and Indian proficiency in English has brought laurels to many Indian business managers. English is a means not only for international commerce; it has become increasingly essential for inter-state commerce and communication.

In India, people going from North to South for education or business mostly communicate in English, which has become a link language. Keeping this in mind, the Parliament has also recognized English as an official language in addition to Hindi. All the facts of history and developments in present day India underline the continued importance of learning English in addition to vernaculars.

Some of the states of India are witnessing popular increase in public demand for teaching of English language from the primary classes. Realizing the importance, recently, the Minister of Indian Railways, Laloo Prasad Yadav, demands teaching of English language in schools. The great demand for admission in English medium schools throughout the country is a testimony to the attraction of English to the people of India. Many of the leaders, who denounce English, send their own children to English medium schools. Many of the schools in the country have English as the sole or additional medium of instruction.

A language attracts people because of the wealth of literature and knowledge enshrined in it. English poses no danger to Indian languages. The Indian languages are vibrant and are developing by the contributions of great minds using them as their vehicle of expression. English is available to us as a historical heritage in addition to our own language. We must make the best use of English to develop ourselves culturally and materially so that we can compete with the best in the world of mind and matter. English language is our window to the world.

English language is one tool to establish our viewpoint. We can learn from others experience. We can check the theories of foreigners against our experience. We can reject the untenable and accept the tenable. We can also propagate our theories among the international audience and readers.

We can make use of English to promote our worldview and spiritual heritage throughout the globe. Swami Vivekananda established the greatness of Indian view of religion at the world conference of religions in Chicago in 1893. He addressed the gathering in impressive English. Many spiritual gurus have since converted thousands of English people to our spirituality by expressing their thought and ideas in masterful English. English has thus become an effective means of promoting Indian view of life, and strengthening our cultural identity in the world.

When William Caxton set up his printing press in London (1477) the new hybrid language (vernacular English mixed with courtly French and scholarly Latin) became increasingly standardized, and by 1611, when the Authorized (King James) Version of the Bible was published, the educated English of London had become the core of what is now called Standard English. By the time of Johnson’s dictionary (1755) and the American Declaration of Independence (1776), English was international and recognizable as the language we use today. The Orthography of English was more or less established by 1650 and, in England in particular, a form of standard educated speech, known as Received Pronunciation (RP) spread from the major public schools in the 19th century. This accent was adopted in the early 20th century by the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC) for its announcers and readers, and is variously known as RP, BBC English, Oxford English, and the King’s or Queen’s English.

Generally, Standard English today does not depend on accent but rather on shared educational experience, mainly of the printed language. Present-day English is an immensely varied language, having absorbed material from many other tongues. It is spoken by more than 300 million native speakers, and between 400 and 800 million foreign users. It is the official language of air transport and shipping; the leading language of science, technology, computers, and commerce; and a major medium of education, publishing, and international negotiation. For this reason, scholars frequently refer to its latest phase as World English.

Monday, May 9, 2011

ಹಲ್ಲುಗಳ ಆರೋಗ್ಯ ಕಾಪಾಡಲು ಆರು ಟಿಪ್ಸ್

ನೀವು ನಕ್ಕಾಗ ಹೊಳೆಯುವ ದಂತಪಂಕ್ತಿಗಳು ನಿಮ್ಮ ವ್ಯಕ್ತಿತ್ವಕ್ಕೆ ಹೊಸ ಮೆರುಗು ನೀಡುತ್ತವೆ. ಸುಂದರ ನಗುವಿಗೆ ಕಾರಣವಾಗುತ್ತದೆ. ಕ್ಷಮಿಸಿ, ಇದು ಯಾವುದೇ ಟೂಥ್ ಪೇಸ್ಟ್ ಜಾಹೀರಾತಲ್ಲ. ಮಾರುಕಟ್ಟೆಯಲ್ಲಿಂದು ಸಾವಿರಾರು ಕೃತಕ ಡೆಂಟಲ್ ಕೇರ್ ಉತ್ಪನ್ನಗಳು ಬರುತ್ತಿವೆ. ಆದರೆ ನಾವು ಹೇಳಹೊರಟದ್ದು ನೀವು ಮನೆಯಲ್ಲಿಯೇ ಮಾಡಬಹುದಾದ ನೈಸರ್ಗಿಕ ಡೆಂಟಲ್ ಕೇರ್ ಬಗ್ಗೆ. ಹಲ್ಲು, ಒಸಡು, ಬಾಯಿಯ ಆರೈಕೆಗೆ ಇದಕ್ಕಿಂತ ಬೆಸ್ಟ್ ಉಪಾಯ ಯಾವುದಿದೆ?
ಚಂದದ ನಗುವಿಗೆ ಇಲ್ಲಿದೆ ಟಿಪ್ಸ್

1. ಲವಂಗ : ನಿಮ್ಮ ಬಾಯಿಯಲ್ಲಿರುವ ಬ್ಯಾಕ್ಟಿರಿಯಾ ಹೊಡೆದೊಡಿಸಿ ಹಲ್ಲನ್ನು ಸುರಕ್ಷಿತವಾಗಿಡಲು ಲವಂಗ ಬಳಸಿ. ಇದು ಆಂಟಿ-ಬ್ಯಾಕ್ಟಿರಿಯಾ ಗುಣಹೊಂದಿದ್ದು ಬಾಯಿಯ ಕೆಟ್ಟ ವಾಸನೆಯನ್ನೂ ಹೋಗಲಾಡಿಸುತ್ತದೆ. ಪ್ರತಿ ಬಾರಿ ಊಟ ಮಾಡಿದ ನಂತರ ಒಂದು ಲವಂಗವನ್ನು ಬಾಯಿಯೊಳಗೆ ಇಟ್ಟುಕೊಳ್ಳುವ ಅಭ್ಯಾಸ ಬೆಳೆಸಿಕೊಳ್ಳಿ. ಹಲ್ಲು ನೋವಿಗೆ ಲವಂಗದ ಎಣ್ಣೆ ಉತ್ತಮ ಔಷಧಿ.


2. ಟೂಥ್ ಪೇಸ್ಟ್ : ಮನೆಯಲ್ಲಿಯೇ ಟೂಥ್ ಪೇಸ್ಟ್ ತಯಾರಿಸಿ. ಹೇಗೆ ಮಾಡುವುದೆಂದು ಕೇಳುತ್ತಿದ್ದೀರಾ? ಅಡುಗೆ ಸೋಡಾ 6 ಚಮಚ, 1/3 ಚಮಚ ಉಪ್ಪು, 4 ಚಮಚ ಗ್ಲಿಸರಿನ್ ಮತ್ತು 15 ಹನಿ ಪೆಪ್ಪರ್ ಮಿಂಟ್ ಎಣ್ಣೆಯನ್ನು ಸರಿಯಾಗಿ ಪೇಸ್ಟ್ ಆಗುವರೆಗೆ ಮಿಕ್ಸ್ ಮಾಡಿಟ್ಟುಕೊಳ್ಳಿ. ಪೇಸ್ಟ್ ರೆಡಿ. ಇದನ್ನು ದಿನಾ ಬಳಸುತ್ತಿದ್ದರೆ ನಿಮಗೆ ಆಶ್ಚರ್ಯವಾಗುವಂತೆ ಹಲ್ಲು ಶುಭ್ರವಾಗುತ್ತದೆ. ಇದು ಬಾಯಿಯೊಳಗಿನ ಕ್ರಿಮಿಗಳನ್ನೂ ನಾಶಪಡಿಸುತ್ತದೆ. ಪ್ರತಿದಿನ ಎರಡು ಬಾರಿ ಹಲ್ಲು ಉಜ್ಜುವುದನ್ನು ಮಾತ್ರ ಮರೆಯಬೇಡಿ.

3. ಉಪ್ಪು ಮತ್ತು ಬೆಳ್ಳುಳ್ಳಿ ಪೇಸ್ಟ್ : ದಿನಕ್ಕೊಮ್ಮೆ ಉಪ್ಪು ಮತ್ತು ಬೆಳ್ಳುಳ್ಳಿ ಪೇಸ್ಟ್ ನಿಂದ ಬಾಯಿ ಮುಕ್ಕಳಿಸಿ. ಇದರಿಂದ ಒಸಡಿನ ತೊಂದರೆಗಳು ನಿವಾರಣೆಯಾಗುತ್ತದೆ. ಹಲ್ಲು ಕೂಡ ಬಲಿಷ್ಠವಾಗುತ್ತವೆ.


4. ಬೇವಿನ ಕಡ್ಡಿ : ಬಾಯಿಯೊಳಗಿನ ಬ್ಯಾಕ್ಟಿರಿಯಾ ಹೋಗಲಾಡಿಸಲು ಬೇವಿನ ಕಡ್ಡಿಯಿಂದ ಹಲ್ಲುಜ್ಜಿ. ಬೇವಿನ ಕಡ್ಡಿ ಜಗಿಯುವುದರಿಂದ ಹಲ್ಲು ಸದೃಢವಾಗುತ್ತವೆ. ಇದರಿಂದ ಹಲ್ಲು ಹುಳುಕಾಗುವುದು ಕೂಡ ತಪ್ಪುತ್ತದೆ. ಆರಂಭದಲ್ಲಿ ಕಹಿಎನಿಸಬಹುದು. ಆದರೆ ರೂಢಿಯಾಗುವವರೆಗೆ, ಅಷ್ಟೆ.


5. ಮೂಲಂಗಿ ಎಲೆ : ಮೂಲಂಗಿ ಎಲೆ ಕೂಡ ಹಲ್ಲಿನ ಆರೋಗ್ಯಕ್ಕೆ ಸಹಕಾರಿ. ಮೂಲಂಗಿ ಎಲೆ ಜಗಿಯುವುದು ಅಥವಾ ಅದರ ಜ್ಯೂಸ್ ಮಾಡಿ ಕುಡಿಯುವುದು ಹಲ್ಲಿಗೆ ಒಳ್ಳೆಯದು. ಮಾರುಕಟ್ಟೆಗೆ ಹೋದಾಗ ಮೂಲಂಗಿ ಜೊತೆಗಿರುವ ಎಲೆಯನ್ನು ಎಸೆಯಬೇಡಿ. ಎಲೆಯನ್ನು ಹಸಿ ಈರುಳ್ಳಿ ಜೊತೆ ಸಣ್ಣಗೆ ಹೆಚ್ಚಿ ಉಪ್ಪು, ನಿಂಬೆರಸ ಬೆರೆಸಿ ಪಚಡಿ ಮಾಡಿ ತಿನ್ನಬಹುದು. ಹೊಟ್ಟೆಗೂ ಇದು ಒಳ್ಳೆಯದು.

6. ಕ್ಯಾಲ್ಸಿಯಂ : ಕ್ಯಾಲ್ಸಿಯಂ ಜಾಸ್ತಿಯಿರುವ ಆಹಾರದಿಂದ ಹಲ್ಲು ಮತ್ತು ಒಸಡು ಹೆಚ್ಚು ಆರೋಗ್ಯಪೂರ್ಣವಾಗುತ್ತದೆ. ಅದಕ್ಕಾಗಿ ಕಾಳು, ಹಣ್ಣು ತರಕಾರಿಗಳು, ಕೋಳಿ ಮೊಟ್ಟೆ ಮತ್ತು ಡೈರಿ ಉತ್ಪನ್ನಳು ಇತ್ಯಾದಿ ಕ್ಯಾಲ್ಸಿಯಂ ಅತ್ಯಧಿಕವಿರುವ ಉತ್ಪನ್ನಗಳನ್ನು ಹೆಚ್ಚು ಹೆಚ್ಚು ಸೇವಿಸಬೇಕು.
ಈ ಆರು ಟಿಪ್ಸ್ ಮೂಲಕ ನೀವು ಮನೆಯಲ್ಲಿಯೇ ಹಲ್ಲುಗಳ ಆರೋಗ್ಯವನ್ನು ಕಾಪಾಡಿಕೊಳ್ಳಿ. ನಿಮಗೆ ನೀವೇ ಡೆಂಟಿಸ್ಟ್ ಆಗಿ. ಇನ್ನೊಂದು ಮಾತು ನೆನಪಿಡಿ. ಆರೋಗ್ಯಕರ ಹಲ್ಲುಗಳು ಹೃದಯಬೇನೆ ಮುಂತಾದ ಅನಾರೋಗ್ಯದಿಂದಲೂ ಕಾಪಾಡುತ್ತವೆ

Thursday, May 5, 2011

Gangolli

Gangolli (also Ganguli) is an Indian village in the Kundapura taluk of Udupi district. It is situated 18 km away from Kundapura town. However Gangolli is 1 km away from Kundapur as both Gangolli & Kundapur are separated by river. If a bridge is constructed via Gangolli & Kundapura, Gangolli can be considered as a part of Kundapura. About 52,000 people live in and around Kundapur, Koteshwara & Gangolli. It is located on a peninsula on the west coast of Karnataka. It is bordered by a river to the east and by the Arabian Sea to the west.


The name of the village derived from the river Pancha Gangavali. It is believed that the Gangolli is the corrupted form of Gangavali. It is a place where five major rivers of Kundapura taluk confluence and join the Arabian Sea.

The village name was originally spelled as Ganguli. But in recent times it has been more commonly spelt as Gangolli. However, the postal seal still contains the old version.

Gangolli had been a famous fort from the days of the Keladi rulers (sixteenth century). It was a major fortification under Tipu Sultan and he set up a ship building yard here. The first colonial power to capture this fort were the Portuguese. It is believed that they had introduced coconut cultivation in this area. They also brought Catholic families from Goa for the purpose.

During the British rule Gangolli developed as a major trading and export centre. It has business connections with Bombay, Kerala, Gujarat, Middle East, Lakshadweep and Tanzania. Rice, jaggery and coconut were the major exports.

During the post-independence days the place continued to be a trading centre. But the trading activities here suffered due to the construction of National Highway 17 and introduction of modern transport system against the traditional shipment.

Later, in the 1980s it developed as a major fishing centre with the introduction of mechanised fishing. Today it is one of the famous fishing centres of Karnataka. Recently the government of Karnataka started developing the port that is locally called "Bunder".

The main languages used here are Kundpur Kannada, Urdu,Zamayati, Navayath and Konkani. The historic Sri Venkataramana temple popularly known as Malyara Mutt is one of the oldest places of worship in the region. It was built during the Vijayanagar time.

Gangolli is a fishing village with a harbor situated near Kundapura in Udupi District of Karnataka. There are several dry fish huts on the river and sea side. Here one can enjoy the picturesque view of Panchagangavali River merging into the sea, the long sea shore and coconut palms of Kundapura. Nearby attractions include a lighthouse and Sri Mahankali Temple, Kanoji Mutt, Kharvi Keri Gangolli.


Maari Jathra (Maari pooja) is a big celebration in this temple. Celebration will be held on 2–3 days. On these days, different cultural activities are also held. Temple festival takes every year in the month of Jan-Feb. After the Sirsi Jathra , its a second famous jathra in Karnataka.

Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Top 10 Interview Mistakes

The best way to avoid the most common and dangerous interview mistakes is to think ahead and decide not to make them... Read on for a whistle-stop tour of the top ten interview clangers!



1. Lying Although it's tempting, it doesn't work. By all means gloss over the unflattering things. But out-right fibbing NEVER pays.


Mark Twain said: "If you tell the truth, you never have to remember anything." Think about it. They will catch you out later.


2. Slating your current company or boss Fed up with your current job and would give anything to leave because they've treated you badly? Your job interview is NOT the time to seek revenge. Bear in mind that the interviewer will be listening to your answers and thinking about what it would be like to work with you. Ask yourself: do you like working with people who constantly criticise others? Isn't it a bit wearing? The trouble is that the interviewer draws massive conclusions from your answers. So your throwaway comment about your boss or employer may be interpreted to be your "standard" way of thinking. It makes you look bad, not your employer.


3. Being Rude If you find you were accidentally rude, then apologise calmly and genuinely. Then leave it behind you and get on with the rest of the interview. If you dwell on it, it will affect your performance. What's "rude"? Well, that depends on your audience. As a rule of thumb, avoid cracking jokes about potentially sensitive topics and beware of being too "pally" with the interviewer: polite and friendly is enough. After all, you're not in the pub with them. So stay professional. Also bear in mind that everyone you meet could be involved in the selection process. So blanking the receptionist or talking down to the junior members of staff could cost you the job.


4. Complaining Ok, so your train journey might have been a nightmare and maybe you thought the tube would never arrive, or the tailbacks on the motorway were endless. But your interviewer doesn't want to know that! Complaining, even in jest, is not a recommended icebreaker. It may be completely harmless, or it might simply make the interviewer switch off. Don't let complaining set the tone for the interview!


5. Talking about people you don't get on with at work These days, it's common to be asked how you deal with conflict. Companies realise the importance of interpersonal relationships in the working environment. So if they ask you about difficult people or situations, make sure you hold back from character assassination and blaming others for problems because it won't do you any favours! If you accidentally do "break" this rule, apologise and explain what you "really" meant.


6. Not Being Prepared Re-read the relevant version of your CV and the job advert, just before the interview. You'd be surprised how many people can't remember what they wrote on their CV. And if you remember what type of person the job advert was looking for, it's easier to demonstrate that you have those qualities. Make sure you've brought with you anything you were asked for. It's fine to bring a note-pad and pen, but make sure they're tidy. It's even ok to bring notes with you; particularly if you have any questions you want to ask. It shows you're taking the job application seriously. Ill-prepared candidates rarely get job offers.


7. Appearing to be too nervous, or too confident If you appear too nervous they'll think you're not confident enough to do the job. However, appearing too confident will make them think you won't fit into the team. If interview nerves are an issue for you, it's worth getting practical help from a professional, such as an interview coach.


8. Making a weak first impression Unfortunately, no matter how hard the interviewer tries, a lot of "don't want to hire them" decisions are made in the first few minutes of contact. If you make a strong first impression, the interviewer will be more inclined to overlook "imperfections" in your answers.


9. Not having researched the company


As a general rule, the more famous the brand, the more they will expect you to have done your homework. Researching the company shows you're serious about the job.


10. Putting your foot in it and not noticing Yes, we know, you didn't mean to put your foot in it. But it doesn't really matter what you intended. What counts is how the other person reacts. So what can you do? Be prepared to simply say "sorry, that's not what I meant!" This requires you to actually be paying attention to the interviewer, rather than your own thoughts and feelings. Once you've apologised, leave it there, take a deep breath to help you relax and move on with the job interview.

Where is the Indian?

Found an intresting article...here its for you all..

A reality with a meaning

An American visited India and went back to America where he met his Indian friend and asked how did you find my country, the American said it is a great country with solid ancient history and immense rich with natural resources.

The Indian friend then asked, how did you find Indians?

Indians? Who Indians?
I did not find or met single Indian in India.
Who nonsense? Who else could you meet in india then?
The American then said ...
In Kashmir....I met a Kashmiri
In Panjab .... I met a Panjabi
In Bihar...Maharastra....Rajasthan...Bengal...Tamilnadu...Kerala...I met Bihari, Marathi, Marwadi, Bengali, Tamilian, Mallu...
In AP... I found Andhra & Telengana.....

Then I met
A Hindu
A Muslim
A Chirstian
A Jain
and many more... but not a single Indian did I meet.
-------
Think guys
The day would not be far when indeed we would become a collection of nation states as some regional anti-national politicians want.
--------
Remember... We are Indians first....We are Indians at last.

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Ad Server features which helps Media Planners

I am writing this article essentially, for all online media planners.I would discuss, the most commonly available ad server features which, would help all the media planners out there, to do an efficient media plan and productive campaign execution.I would highly recommend, all the planners to gain some basic ad server feature knowledge from the publisher ad serving person/Traffickers.

Frequency capping:It is a feature, which allows one, to set a limit to the number of times an advert shown to a given user at a given interval.

Example:A Frequency cap of 1 in 1 hour.For this setting, the Ad server would throw an advert to an unique user only once in one hour.
Ad Priority:Every ad server would allow, to set priority to an ad delivery.If you want, your campaign to deliver fast, you can check with Ad serving person to set higher priority to deliver fast.Similarly, you can reduce priority for slower delivery.

Even delivery:This option would ensure that, through out the campaign period the impression burn rate is consistent.No surge and spike in impression burn.You can check, for the availability of this feature.

Daily capping:This feature allows to set a daily impression limit for a campaign.Once this limit is met, the campaign would not run for the rest of the day.

Category Set:By this feature, we can restrict the display of similar products of other advertisers appearing on the same time on the same page.Media planners can check with an ad serving person for this feature so as to ensure other advertiser's similar product does not get displayed when your advert is shown.

Companion positions:Sometimes if you have two campaigns of same advertiser on two different ad slots on a same page, the problem is both the advert might appear at the same time.Is not the inventory waste if you do a performance based campaign?In order to avoid this you can set the Ad server accordingly.This would stop the same advertiser's advert appears on the same time on the same page.Thereby, saving loads of inventory.

Targeting options:There are wide range of targeting options available.You can target based on area code, Zip code, Postal code, telephone code, city, country, state, operating system, browser, User behavior, Age, Gender, Internet Bandwidth, Time and Day,.. etc.So, use it.

Creative delivery:Many ad servers would have various options to deliver a creative based on its"Weightage, Clicks and Impressions". So, check with your ad trafficker if you want to manually increase weightage of your creative or setup can be made on the Ad server to optimize the creative based its upon impressions and clicks.

As jotted few features there would be lots many more which can help significantly help you .So, remember to spend some time to prepare a detail Ad server feature list and their use of every publisher you work with.Because, this would help you not only to Media plan but also to run efficient campaigns.

Tips for Testing Campaigns

I was pondering for a while on the topic to post.At last managed to get a topic for today.The post would focus on few ideas to test new ad and creative type on live environment.When you traffickers receive any new creative/ad format which you wanted to know how it would look on the live publisher, here are the ways you can carry out this test
  • Live testing of campaigns MUST be executed in short time.Once the test ad is live, test what you needed, and turn it off instead running it for days(which is a huge mess)
  • Always check for the preview and click through on the ad server before going to make live
  • If you wanted to do a quick test, book huge inventory, set highest priority, and scheduled it for one day(simply traffic as exclusive/roadblock campaigns).So this test ad becomes live as soon as the Ad server pushes.Note very very importantly this type of test should be finished in short time, say 10 ~15 min after the ad server pushes.Else, it would results in unnecessary impressions delivery and also would compete with other premium advertisements running.So be utmost careful while executing this
  • Another good practice is to target.By this you actually reduce the competition with actual live ads scheduled.Pick the less traffic page group of the publisher to target.Usually the publisher would have less ads scheduled, so the possibility of competing is less
  • You can also geo-target .Idea is , you target the test ad to to your local(country/state/city)this way you narrow down and keep yourself out of competing with scheduled ads.Example if you are in india further drill down to city level say " chennai/bangalore/mumbai" which is your target city
Testing campaign on live environment is a good practice, but do abide your limits and its impact.Always carry out within shorter time and immediately turn off once testing is done.More the testing time, more the inventory loss and higher the cost we would be liable to ad server vendors.

Ad Operations/Online Advertsing


1.       What are the various modes in online advertising?
Advertising using internet technology (WWW)
Display advertising –Static, RICHMEDIA & Mobile/PDA
Email advertising refers to advertising displayed in an email environment. It includes: Display, text, opt-in Search/Keyword marketing
2.       What is Display Advertising?
Display advertising refers to web advertising displaying the message using graphical information beyond text.  Includes image, rich media, floating, transitional, etc.
3.       Various creative formats?
Static Image – Gif, Jpeg
Rich – Flash – swf
RichMedia – Floating, Expandable, transitional, video, Motif

4.       What is an online campaign? Types of campaigns?
Online campaign is program
a.       Branding (awareness and message reinforcement)
b.      Direct response (ROI/acquisition-focused)

5.       Explain Frequency capping?

6.       What are the various types are targeting in online adverting?
Content – Various sections on the website pages
Geographical – Country, State, city, pin code, zip code etc
 Demographic
Time and Date
psychographic/behavioral
Computer System 
Internet Related
7.       What is RFI>RFP>IO (request for info/proposal, insertion order)? Explain

8.       Define Impression and click ?
Impression: one exposure to one user of a display or text ad
Click: One mouse click on the ad displayed.
9.       Types of cost structure and explain
CPM (cost per thousand impressions)
CPC/CPA (cost per click of acquisition/conversion)
Flat rate (special sponsorships such as fixed placements)
10.   Sony has booked an ad slot of 728x90 @ 4 CPM and 300x250 @ 2CPC on Yahoo. If in 1 month yahoo records 400,000 impressions on 728x90 and 2000 clicks, then what is the total cost? Who should pay?
Cost 728x90 = 400000x4/1000 = 1600
Cost 300x250 = 2000x2 = 4000
Total cost = 5600
11.   Explain the following terminologies used in online advertising industry
a)      BUYERS - Buyers are companies that buy ad space to advertise on it. Direct advertisers, Agencies and small business.
b)      Agency - Agencies are companies that handle the advertising process on behalf of the advertiser.
c)       Sellers - Sellers are companies that Sell ad space to advertise on it. Portals, Ad Networks, Content sites and Social networks
d)      Publisher - Web-publishers will monetize their web content via advertisements by creating ad spaces.
e)      Ad Network - An ad network acts as an agency for the publisher. Ad networks do not own the content, and they are responsible only for selling ad inventory on behalf of the publishers.
f)       Remnant - Selling ad space that a publisher cannot sell. They try to buy ad space at low prices and sell it at a higher price by packaging it through targeting capabilities and reach
g)      AD Exchange - Virtual marketplaces bring together online advertising buyers and sellers. Mainly focused on: remnant (unsold) inventory and inventory from publishers with no sales structure (long tail)
h)      Media Planning: Managing the process of researching media and planning the campaign.
i)        Media Buying: Managing the process of buying the media and price negotiation. Usually buyers use an RFP process to request proposals from the publishers that satisfy the goal of the buyer.
12.   Explain the complete steps involved in Buyer/Advertise side online ad serving process
Media Planning >Buying ad space on Publisher>Creative Generation > Trafficking >Reporting>Optimization >Invoicing
Media Planning: Managing the process of researching media and planning the campaign.
Media Buying: Managing the process of buying the media and price negotiation. Usually buyers use an RFP process to request proposals from the publishers that satisfy the goal of the buyer.
Creative Management: Managing the design process from the storyboards to the actual creative. Most of the time the design process is outsourced to creative agencies or freelancers.
Centralized Tracking: The buyer needs to have a centralized view of campaign data to see how the campaign is performing across the media they bought. One key requirement online (especially for direct marketers) is the ability to track the leads/sales and what activities led to it.
Media/Creative Optimization: The buyer needs to optimize the creatives to the right audience and make sure they stay “fresh” to avoid burnout effect (displaying the same creative over and over). They also need to make sure the media purchased delivers the expected results.
Accounting: The buyer needs to be able to pay the publisher based on the pricing models set forth in the purchase order and the delivered results.

13.   Explain the complete steps involved in Seller/Publisher side online ad serving process.
Proposal generation/IO >Inventory Management > Trafficking > Reporting>Optimization >Invoicing
Account management: Managing the relationship with the buyers
Proposal management: Managing RFPs and proposals during the sales process
Inventory management: Managing the ad inventory available for sale
Order/placement management: Managing the proper delivery of the orders/placements that are sold
Yield management: Maximizing ad revenue
Accounting: Managing invoices and payments
14.   Example of adserving platforms
Publisher side – DFP, 247 OAS, Yield manager, Pointroll, Eyeblaster, Yahoo Rightmedia
Agency/advertiser side – DFA, ATLAS, Accipiter, Yahoo AMP. OAMS, ADMODUS, Helious iQ
Exchange tools – Ad Exchange

1.        What is browser/proxy server caching? What is caching?

A:  Information, such as web pages, images, etc., are saved on a user’s computer or proxy server so that the information can be accessed more quickly. The information is accessed more quickly because the browser and/or proxy server need not re-contact the original source. This is a natural occurrence in the web and is responsible for making sure that web pages load as quickly as they do.
In an attempt to speed up user experience around the web, most browsers implement a technology called cache. This mechanism allows information, such as web pages, images, etc., to be saved on a user’s computer. Therefore, if the user calls for a previously requested web page, the browser will recall the information from the cache and not make another request from the site itself. Once the browser receives a DoubleClick ad image, it will store the image in the cache. Further calls for the ad image will be drawn from the cache – not from DoubleClick -- and an impression will not be counted. In order to defect the browser cache mechanism, Cache busting (aka Random Number Generation (RNG)) is implemented. 

What is Random Number Generation (RNG)?

A:  RNG is the process of inserting a random number in HTML tags to defeat browser/proxy caching. Random numbers change every time the tags are requested and sent. To be sure, cache busting can be achieved via the inclusion of any random string; however, this string is most commonly a number.
Browser caching can be defeated by dynamically creating unique tags for each ad image served. This ensures that when a user navigates from page to page the ad image is not delivered from the browser’s cache, but rather a new image is delivered from the DoubleClick servers for each request. To accomplish this unique tagging, a different random number is added to the image tags that reference the ad image. Typically, when a browser sees another image call with the same name, it pulls the ad from cache. To defeat this, an ord= attribute is added to the HTML tag, and when implemented correctly, prevents the images from being pulled from the cache. Tags with different “ord=” values prevent this caching problem because the different value forces the browser to retrieve a new banner from the ad server. If not implemented correctly, though, browser caching will not be defeated.

1.       What will happen if I do not use RNG to defeat caching?

A:  Web pages, images, etc. will be served from the user’s computer or proxy server rather than from DoubleClick’s servers. This will result in the undercounting of impressions and will cause counting discrepancies. This is an issue that can negatively affect both the Advertiser/Client and the Publisher website.
18.  Conversion tracking and how do you track the same?
What happens after a viewer sees a banner and doesn’t click ? Are they coming back? Converting?
Process of tracking the information beyond click and impression like post click and post impression. This will be tracked on the landing page. We need to use 1x1 pixel calls on the each page of the landing URL (Advertiser website) where you want to track the conversion activities.
When a browser hits a page on the advertiser’s site that contains a conversion/spotlight tag, the browser initiates an “HTTP get request” for a 1x1 pixel to the ad serving tool. In the process of making this request to DoubleClick, a user’s browser passes back information in the tag including IP address, operating system, browser type, cookie ID and the URL of the tag itself.

19.  Postclick/post impression
post-click activity :An action performed by a user in a web page that contains Spotlight tags, where the visit is a result of having clicked on an ad.
post-impression activity
An action performed by a user in an advertiser’s web page that contains Spotlight tags, after having seen an ad for the advertiser

20.  Why do we use clickTag in flash creative?
We use clickTag because it allows us to add our click tracking string to the final click through destination. Typically, clickTag is implemented in a button action like so
on (release) {
            getURL (_level0.clickTag, "_blank");
}
21.  Explain the following reporting metrics
Field
Description
Click Rate
The percentage of impressions that resulted in users clicking an ad.
Calculated as:
Click Rate = (Impressions/Clicks Recorded) * 100
Clicks Recorded
The number of times users have clicked ads in a campaign to date.
Effective CPM
The cost per thousand impressions.
Calculated as:
Total Cost [$] / (Delivered Impressions / 1000)
Impressions Delivered
The number of impressions that have been delivered to date.
Media Cost
The cost of all delivered impressions and clicks. The cost type and the cost entered against the placement are also factored in the calculation. This information is determined by the advertiser when pricing information is entered in the Trafficking module.
The media cost does not take into account run dates, but does take into account hybrid pricing.

22.   What is an invalid click?
Invalid click  is any click that is not generated by an actual human user. Causes of invalid clicks: - Spiders, robots, crawlers, and other automated agents: - Programs that download entire websites for offline use:  Link analyzers and code validators: This is a click fraud technique.
23.   Why do we have to send screen shot?? Explain
Once the ad is serving live on the website for a new campaign, we need to provide a proof of the same to advertiser. So agency will take a screenshot on website once the ad is showing and this will be shared with Advertiser as a proof.
  1. What a sales person in publisher end do?
Selling the ad inventory, checking the availability and booking the ad slot and preparing Insertion order.
  1. What are the basic element needed to traffic an ad
Trafficking instruction/IO, creative assets and Landing page URL
26.   What are various types of creative rotations?
Random, sequential, weighted, best performing etc

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