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Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Some common questions about Ad Operations



Ad Operations 

1.       What are the various modes in online advertising?
Advertising using internet technology (WWW)
Display advertising –Static, RICHMEDIA & Mobile/PDA
Email advertising refers to advertising displayed in an email environment. It includes: Display, text, opt-in Search/Keyword marketing

2.       Define Advertising and List Benefits of advertising?
Advertising is a paid form of communication delivered to persuade or influence an audience about a product or service.
Increase the brand awareness and Direct response (direct behavior or interaction which is specific and quantifiable. )
 Increase Sales and ROI
 Awareness of products
 To promote product/service
 Build a good Rapport with consumer

4.       What is IAB - Internet Advertising bureau? Explain the core functionality of IAB
The IAB educates marketers, agencies, media companies and the wider business community about the value of interactive advertising. Working with its member companies, the IAB evaluates and recommends standards and practices and fields critical research on interactive advertising.
Ad Standards, Creative Standards, Contracts, Privacy Measurement guide etc

5.       What is Display Advertising?
Display advertising refers to web advertising displaying the message using graphical information beyond text.  Includes image, rich media, floating, transitional, etc.

6.       Various creative formats?
Static Image – Gif, Jpeg
Rich – Flash – swf
RichMedia – Floating, Expandable, transitional, video, Motif

7.       What is an online campaign? Types of campaigns?
Online campaign is advertising program published using internet
a.       Branding (awareness and message reinforcement)
b.      Direct response (ROI/acquisition-focused)

9.       What are the various types are targeting in online adverting?
Content – Various sections on the website pages
Geographical – Country, State, city, pin code, zip code etc
 Demographic
Time and Date
psychographic/behavioral
Computer System 
Internet Related

10.   What is RFI>RFP>IO (request for info/proposal, insertion order)? Explain
Request for proposal. Advertiser sends RFP to Publisher by requesting to run an ad

11.   What is forecasting?
A process of investigating how many impressions are available for a future date on a specific targeting area of a website.

12.   Define Impression and click ?
Impression: one exposure to one user of a display or text ad
Click: One mouse click on the ad displayed.

13.   Types of cost structure and explain
CPM (cost per thousand impressions)
CPC/CPA (cost per click of acquisition/conversion)
Flat rate (special sponsorships such as fixed placements) 

14.   Sony has booked an ad slot of 728x90 @ 4 CPM and 300x250 @ 2CPC on Yahoo. If in 1 month yahoo records 400,000 impressions on 728x90 and 2000 clicks, then what is the total cost? Who should pay?
Cost 728x90 = 400000x4/1000 = 1600
Cost 300x250 = 2000x2 = 4000
Total cost = 5600

15.   Explain the following terminologies used in online advertising industry

a)      BUYERS - Buyers are companies that buy ad space to advertise on it. Direct advertisers, Agencies and small business.
b)      Agency - Agencies are companies that handle the advertising process on behalf of the advertiser.
c)       CTR: The click rate is the percentage of ad views that resulted in clickthroughs
CTR – Click Through Rate = (Click/impression) 100
d)      Sellers - Sellers are companies that Sell ad space to advertise on it. Portals, Ad Networks, Content sites and Social networks
e)      Publisher - Web-publishers will monetize their web content via advertisements by creating ad spaces.
f)       Ad Network - An ad network acts as an agency for the publisher. Ad networks do not own the content, and they are responsible only for selling ad inventory on behalf of the publishers.
g)      Remnant - Selling ad space that a publisher cannot sell. They try to buy ad space at low prices and sell it at a higher price by packaging it through targeting capabilities and reach
h)      AD Exchange - Virtual marketplaces bring together online advertising buyers and sellers. Mainly focused on: remnant (unsold) inventory and inventory from publishers with no sales structure (long tail)
i)        Media Planning: Managing the process of researching media and planning the campaign.
j)        Media Buying: Managing the process of buying the media and price negotiation. Usually buyers use an RFP process to request proposals from the publishers that satisfy the goal of the buyer.

16.   What is an Insertion order?
 An insertion order is a formal, printed order to run an ad campaign. Typically, the insertion order identifies the campaign name, the Web site receiving the order and the planner or buyer giving the order, the individual ads to be run (or who will provide them), the ad sizes, the campaign beginning and end dates, the CPM, the total cost, discounts to be applied, and reporting requirements and possible penalties or stipulations relative to the failure to deliver the impressions.

17.   Who is a BUYER and explain?
Buyers are companies that buy ad space to advertise on it.
They might buy ad space to advertise their own product/services or those of others.
The buyers can be categorized in the following groups:
Direct marketers – Medium to large company
Agencies  - Companies that handle the advertising process on behalf of the advertiser. Function: planning, buying, creative design, PR, branding, etc.
Specialty: direct marketing, search, branding, etc.

18.   Who is a SELLER and explain?
Sellers are companies that Sell ad space to advertise on it.
Web-publishers will monetize their web content via advertisements by creating ad spaces
Managing the ad inventory available for sale and
forecasting.
Portals, Ad Networks, Content sites and Social networks

19.   What is an ADNETWORK?
An ad network acts as an agency for the publisher
  Ad networks do not own the content, and they are responsible only for selling ad inventory on behalf of the publishers.
  The key benefit of ad networks is the ability to aggregate supply and therefore lower buying cost.
  Remnant/arbitrage networks focus on selling ad space that a publisher cannot sell.
  They try to buy ad space at low prices and sell it at a higher price by packaging it through targeting capabilities and reach. They usually purchase in CPM



20.   Explain the complete steps involved in Buyer/Advertise side online ad serving process
Media Planning >Buying ad space on Publisher>Creative Generation > Trafficking >Reporting>Optimization >Invoicing
Media Planning: Managing the process of researching media and planning the campaign.
Media Buying: Managing the process of buying the media and price negotiation. Usually buyers use an RFP process to request proposals from the publishers that satisfy the goal of the buyer.
Creative Management: Managing the design process from the storyboards to the actual creative. Most of the time the design process is outsourced to creative agencies or freelancers.
Centralized Tracking: The buyer needs to have a centralized view of campaign data to see how the campaign is performing across the media they bought. One key requirement online (especially for direct marketers) is the ability to track the leads/sales and what activities led to it.
Media/Creative Optimization: The buyer needs to optimize the creatives to the right audience and make sure they stay “fresh” to avoid burnout effect (displaying the same creative over and over). They also need to make sure the media purchased delivers the expected results.
Accounting: The buyer needs to be able to pay the publisher based on the pricing models set forth in the purchase order and the delivered results.

21.   Explain the complete steps involved in Seller/Publisher side online ad serving process.
Proposal generation/IO >Inventory Management > Trafficking > Reporting>Optimization >Invoicing
Account management: Managing the relationship with the buyers
Proposal management: Managing RFPs and proposals during the sales process
Inventory management: Managing the ad inventory available for sale
Order/placement management: Managing the proper delivery of the orders/placements that are sold
Yield management: Maximizing ad revenue
Accounting: Managing invoices and payments

22.   What is Media Research and explain?
This is a part of Media Planning process where an agency will refer to the various research data to select the appropriate audience for adverting campaign. Geographic reports, Demographic data, Survery, research done by comsocre and other agency on the user data, Internet usage etc can be used .

23.   What is rate card?
An electronic document which highlights the information regarding the publisher site such as – cost structure, ad slot size available, creative specification to be used , contact info, policy etc. This will be sent along with Insertion order. This will be sent to agency/advertiser who are interested to run a campaign on the website.

24.   What are the various cost structure used in online industry and explain
CPM : CPM is "cost per thousand" ad impressions, an industry standard measure for selling ads on Web sites. This measure is taken from print advertising. The "M" has nothing to do with "mega" or million. It's taken from the Roman numeral for "thousand."CPC = Cost Per Click
CPC – Cost Per Click
CPD = Cost per Day
CPL = Cost per Lead
Flat Rate – Total cost is fixed.
Sponsorships/Bonus

25.   What is browser/proxy server caching? What is caching?

A:  Information, such as web pages, images, etc., are saved on a user’s computer or proxy server so that the information can be accessed more quickly. The information is accessed more quickly because the browser and/or proxy server need not re-contact the original source. This is a natural occurrence in the web and is responsible for making sure that web pages load as quickly as they do.
In an attempt to speed up user experience around the web, most browsers implement a technology called cache. This mechanism allows information, such as web pages, images, etc., to be saved on a user’s computer. Therefore, if the user calls for a previously requested web page, the browser will recall the information from the cache and not make another request from the site itself. Once the browser receives a DoubleClick ad image, it will store the image in the cache. Further calls for the ad image will be drawn from the cache – not from DoubleClick -- and an impression will not be counted. In order to defect the browser cache mechanism, Cache busting (aka Random Number Generation (RNG)) is implemented. 

26.   What is Random Number Generation (RNG)?

A:  RNG is the process of inserting a random number in HTML tags to defeat browser/proxy caching. Random numbers change every time the tags are requested and sent. To be sure, cache busting can be achieved via the inclusion of any random string; however, this string is most commonly a number.
Browser caching can be defeated by dynamically creating unique tags for each ad image served. This ensures that when a user navigates from page to page the ad image is not delivered from the browser’s cache, but rather a new image is delivered from the DoubleClick servers for each request. To accomplish this unique tagging, a different random number is added to the image tags that reference the ad image. Typically, when a browser sees another image call with the same name, it pulls the ad from cache. To defeat this, an ord= attribute is added to the HTML tag, and when implemented correctly, prevents the images from being pulled from the cache. Tags with different “ord=” values prevent this caching problem because the different value forces the browser to retrieve a new banner from the ad server. If not implemented correctly, though, browser caching will not be defeated.

27.  What will happen if I do not use RNG to defeat caching?

A:  Web pages, images, etc. will be served from the user’s computer or proxy server rather than from DoubleClick’s servers. This will result in the undercounting of impressions and will cause counting discrepancies. This is an issue that can negatively affect both the Advertiser/Client and the Publisher website.

28.  Conversion tracking and how do you track the same?
What happens after a viewer sees a banner and doesn’t click ? Are they coming back? Converting?
Process of tracking the information beyond click and impression like post click and post impression. This will be tracked on the landing page. We need to use 1x1 pixel calls on the each page of the landing URL (Advertiser website) where you want to track the conversion activities.
When a browser hits a page on the advertiser’s site that contains a conversion/spotlight tag, the browser initiates an “HTTP get request” for a 1x1 pixel to the ad serving tool. In the process of making this request to DoubleClick, a user’s browser passes back information in the tag including IP address, operating system, browser type, cookie ID and the URL of the tag itself.

29.  Postclick/post impression
post-click activity :An action performed by a user in a web page that contains Spotlight tags, where the visit is a result of having clicked on an ad.
post-impression activity
An action performed by a user in an advertiser’s web page that contains Spotlight tags, after having seen an ad for the advertiser

30.  Why do we use clickTag in flash creative?
We use clickTag because it allows us to add our click tracking string to the final click through destination. Typically, clickTag is implemented in a button action like so
on (release) {
            getURL (_level0.clickTag, "_blank");
}

31.  Explain the following reporting metrics
Field
Description
Click Rate
The percentage of impressions that resulted in users clicking an ad.
Calculated as:
Click Rate = (Impressions/Clicks Recorded) * 100
Clicks Recorded
The number of times users have clicked ads in a campaign to date.
Effective CPM
The cost per thousand impressions.
Calculated as:
Total Cost [$] / (Delivered Impressions / 1000)
Impressions Delivered
The number of impressions that have been delivered to date.
Media Cost
The cost of all delivered impressions and clicks. The cost type and the cost entered against the placement are also factored in the calculation. This information is determined by the advertiser when pricing information is entered in the Trafficking module.
The media cost does not take into account run dates, but does take into account hybrid pricing.

32.   What is an invalid click?
Invalid click  is any click that is not generated by an actual human user. Causes of invalid clicks: - Spiders, robots, crawlers, and other automated agents: - Programs that download entire websites for offline use:  Link analyzers and code validators: This is a click fraud technique.
33.   Why do we have to send screen shot?? Explain
Once the ad is serving live on the website for a new campaign, we need to provide a proof of the same to advertiser. So agency will take a screenshot on website once the ad is showing and this will be shared with Advertiser as a proof 

4.  What a sales person in publisher end do?
Selling the ad inventory, checking the availability and booking the ad slot and preparing Insertion order.

35.  What are the basic element needed to traffic an ad
Trafficking instruction/IO, creative assets and Landing page URL

36.  What are various types of creative rotations?
Random, sequential, weighted, best performing etc

37.  Explain what is CPM and CPC and how it differs in terms of cost calculations?
CPM and CPC are units or pricing models in an ad serving system.
CPM:- Cost per thousand impressions.
CPC:- Cost per Click

38.  Explain below the creative rotation?
Random: All of the creative in the ad are served in random order. This is the default value.
Sequential: All of the creative in the ad are served to a user in the order of the assignments.
Example (1,2,3…etc)
Weighted: You apply a percentage to each creative (for a total of 100 percent).Each creative is served the specified percentage of the time.
Best performing: Images are set to deliver in random order until DFP can bias deliver to the best performing creative with the highest click rate. The best performing creative is served 75 percent of the time, the other creative share the remaining 25 percent of the time.

39.  What is Click Command?
Click ads are used to track text links, emails or other elements hard coded on a website.  Site traffickers may want to insert a click command in their site if they do not want to deliver creatives from a 3rd party ad server.  

40.  What is caching ?
Caching: Caching is a technique used to increase performance on
the Internet. Web browsers and proxy servers save copies of web
page elements (page source code, images, and so on) to local
memory caches so that they do not have to retrieve the same
material on subsequent requests.

41.  What is under delivery?
Under Delivery: Delivery of less impressions, visitors, or conversions than contracted for a specified period of time.

42.  What are Discrepancies?
Difference in counts (impression, click, Click to Landing) across two different ad servers (Publisher and Advertiser)
Cause a great amount of pain for our customers – they have to be resolved, campaign by campaign, for billing

43.  What causes discrepancies?
Difference of counting methodologies and filtration procedures
Trafficking Errors
Number of redirects
User hits back button, closes window, etc
Popup blocking, ad blocking
44.  What are troubleshooting steps for discrepancy identification?

Get all the reports
Review the trafficking
Understand the counting method used
Testing with sample
Communicate
There will be no exact solution

45.  What is optimization?
Optimization techniques are used to Meet and exceed established goals for all CPA, CPM and CPC campaigns.
Under delivery and over delivery reports will used along with other guidelines, we can suggest the optimization required to meet the goal. 

46.  What is targeting?
The process of delivering an advertiser's ad to the user through either content matching, profiling, or filtering.
Improve response by delivering messages to consumers who are most likely to respond.
The control of the distribution of ad creative to only those web sites or those users that fit within the particular targeting parameters.
Targeting has the potential to dramatically improve the advertiser's ROI
The process of specifying criteria so that an appropriate ad is served to a user.

47.  Explain 4 various types of targeting?

Geographic targeting - It is used to target users in specific geographic locations. E.g.: Country, State/Region, Area Code and DMA.

Demographic Targeting - Based on the demographic data – age, sex, salary etc 

Internet-related targeting- It is used to target users who are accessing the web in specific ways. E.g. IE 7,Mozilla, Firefox etc

Computer system targeting - It is used to target users who are accessing the web with specific computer technologies. E.g. Windows 95

Time and day targeting - It is used to choose the times of day and days of the week at which ads are served to users.

Contextual/content targeting - It is used to serve ads to users based on the content they view in your website. You target an ad to a specific section of your website based on the content contained in that section. For example, you can specify that ads for hotels can be served only to the travel section of your website.You can target to content by using DART sites, zones, and content categories.

Key-value and keyword targeting - It is a feature that is used to serve ads to users based on the following: text that a user enters into a search engine (for example, a user who is searching for computers)

48.  What is boomerang Targeting?

It is an enhanced targeting feature that enables you to target ads to anonymous users who perform specific actions, such as view web pages or ads on multiple occasions, make frequent purchases, or provide membership data.

49.  Behavioral Targeting

         Behavioral targeting uses information collected on an individual's web-browsing behavior, such as the pages they have visited or the searches they have made, to select which advertisements to display to that individual. 

50.  What is a cookie ?
 In computing, a cookie (also browser cookie, computer cookie, tracking cookie, web cookie, internet cookie, and HTTP cookie) is a small string of text stored on a user's computer by a web browser. A cookie consists of one or more name-value pairs containing bits of information such as user preferences, shopping cart contents, the identifier for a server-based session, or other data used by websites.
A cookie can be used for authenticating, session tracking (state maintenance), and maintaining specific information about users, such as site preferences or the contents of their electronic shopping carts.

51.  Advantage and Disadvantage of Targetting?
Advantage:
  1. Deliver your ad to the right audience, and therefore increasing brand awareness
  2. Eliminates wastage of impressions
  3. Increased conversion rate.
  4. High ROI
  5. Deliver an ad to the right user at the right time
Disadvantage:
  1. Low reach
  2. Under delivery
52.   What is Random Number Generation (RNG)? 

RNG is the process of inserting a random number in HTML tags to defeat browser/proxy caching. Random numbers change every time the tags are requested and sent. To be sure, cache busting can be achieved via the inclusion of any random string, however, this string is most commonly a number.

53.  What is browser/proxy server caching?
Information, such as web pages, images, etc., are saved on a user’s computer or proxy server so that the information can be accessed more quickly. The information is accessed more quickly because the browser and/or proxy server need not re-contact the original source. This is a natural occurrence in the web and is responsible for making sure that web pages load as quickly as they do.

54.  What will happen if you do not use RNG to defeat caching?
Web pages, images, etc. will be served from the user’s computer or proxy server rather than from DoubleClick’s servers. This will result in the undercounting of impressions and will cause counting discrepancies. This is an issue that can negatively affect both the Advertiser/Client and the Publisher website.

55.  Briefly explain Ad Networks and any two advantages of ad networks?
They are collection of sites( either partnered, own or both)
Advantages:
The lower CPM connection: Publishers still have substantial unsold inventory which is sold to adnetworks at lower price than the normal price.
Better targeting, higher CPMs:The report suggests that better ad network targeting and inventory management will generate higher CPMs.
 
57.  Define Inventory?
Inventory is the total number of ad views that a Web site has to sell over a given period of time 

58.  What is Yield Management?
Maximizing ad revenue.  Making sure that the publishers are making the most money possible while fulfilling all ad delivery priorities.

59.  Explain Inventory Management Process
Sales team process
Managing the ad inventory available for sale.  Responding to proposals and letting the sales team what’s available for sale. Also forecasting the available inventory on the specific website for future dates.

60.  Explain Over delivery and Under delivery. What are the optimization you will do for each case ?
Over Delivery – If the impression delivered by the ad server is exceeding the per day goal of the overall inventory booked. Campaign is speeding. Optimization – To control the delivery we can set frequency cap, hard stop, add targeting,  remove sites/zone etc and apply key-value, extended the rundates etc
Under Delivery - If the impression delivered by the ad server is below the per day goal of the overall inventory booked. Camping is running slow. Optimization – To increase the ad delivery – we can ad more sites/zones, swap the creative, remove targeting, remove frequency capping.

61.  Sony wants to advertise on Digital camera. What are some of the benefits and risks running this ad campaign on all available sites in the world?

Benefits: - You can reach to large number of audience across the world. Branding and awareness. Reach to various kinds of people with various interests
MORE IMPRESSIONS, CLICKS and CTR
Risk: Cost of running the campaign is more. Product is not targeting to appropriate audience. Less rate of conversion. Wastage of impressions and click cost. We need to target to specific users to get more ROI

62.  Maruthi wants to run an ad campaign for its new SWIFT car. Suggest some website to the advertiser so that they can get maximum reach and ROI. Also explain why you are selecting those sites.
Auto related site – Reach to concentrated audience so that conversion rate is more.
Example :
CARS.com (Site dedicated to cars and accessories – Used, New etc) – Carwale.com, cardomain, Autosite.com,
Yahoo/MSN – Popular site in the world and wide range of audience.

63.  List 4 Publisher adserving tools?
DFP – DART For Publisher (DoubleClick)
Accipiter
Yield Manger
YAHOO APT
HELIOUS
OAS
AD BUILDER
AD MODUS
Value Click
64.  List 4 3rd part Advertiser adserving tools?
DFA
MediaPlex
ATLAS
ZEDO

65.  Define the attribute of a FLASH creative
Button action
on (release) {                                            
            getURL (_level0.clickTag, "_blank");                      
            }
Audio, Duration, Animation, Number of loops and Version

66.  What is the use of backup gif while trafficking a Flash creative?
A.      Client can run both flash and gif together and get more impressions
B.      If the user computer does not have flash plug-in or version then gif creative will be served
C.      Based on the targeting criteria either gif and flash can be served
D.      None of the above

67.  List at least 6 creative specification
KB Size, Pixel size, button action, version, loops, Audio, Rotation, Animation, duration etc
 
69.  List few types of creative?
Gif/Jpeg
 Flash
 RichMedia
 Expandable
 Floating
 Popup and Popunder
 Click commands/Text ads
 Pixel Ads

Monday, November 19, 2012

What It’s Really Like to Work at Google

Google. It’s one of the most common household words in today’s modern society, and yet for a company that is used by most of us essentially as an algorithm, it tends to trigger a highly emotional response when overheard. It’s a dream job for college students nearing graduation, a highly coveted invitation to lunch by friends and colleagues who work near campus, and the bane of existence for those who produce content for the Internet. For several years, most of the public has seen quick glimpses of the life of those who work at Google: offices filled with primary colors, couches, large kitchens, massage chairs, and even hammocks. There’s no doubt that working at Google comes with perks; not only does Google provide the traditional benefits like health insurance and extremely competitive pay, but Googlers are treated to free breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, free on-site massages, car detailing, on-site fitness centers, and even napping pods.
It’s almost as if you could live on campus and never leave. Google’s motto is (apparently) “Don’t be evil,” and it goes out of its way, every day, to ensure Googlers live extremely well on campus. But what is this life really like?

One software engineer on the Mountain View campus, who is married with an 18-month-old son, says that these perks encourage a work-life balance. For example, he comes into the office around 9 a.m., and may leave for salsa dancing classes with other Googlers at 2 p.m. He then comes back, codes for a few hours, then may go to a bar on campus with some colleagues, return to work, and then go home around 7 p.m. He says he typically gets back to work, while at home, around 10 p.m. To him, this is the epitome of Google’s work-life balance, though the amount of personal life in his day amounts to less than three hours with his family, assuming the rest of the time is spent sleeping.
Other Googlers do use the full features of the campus to essentially live and breathe Google, ensuring they stay healthy and fit with Google’s exceptional dining facilities, on-site gyms, and medical teams while demonstrating a devout work ethic. It’s no secret that one of the biggest perks of Google is the food — in fact, some warn new hires of the “Google 15″ due to the massive options, especially at the Mountain View campus. Google features full showers and locker rooms, enabling Googlers to work as hard as they want, potentially for days at a time. A former contractor for Google noted that many of the engineers and sales teams “are always pushing themselves and each other. I saw a lot of really determined, competitive people there,” to the point that they would stay on campus for several days at a time.
Brilliantly, Google has designed all of its offices so its employees can stay at work overnight, without having to worry about a thing — such as their hunger, health, or hygiene.
What It's Really Like to Work at Google
That is, unless you have a family. The software engineer I spoke with usually makes the choice to go home, as do the members of his team. He notes that “there are a large collection of people who have families on [his] team.” However, he also explains that at Google, “your compensation is correlated to the amount of effort you can put in.” While he says there is no direct pressure to conform to “crazy hours,” he hints at the reason he lives a Google-centric life: His pay is directly related to the amount of time he spends with Google. For those who can’t keep up with the demand, they simply have no choice but to leave, as previous (and notably older) Google employees have done when they must make the choice between raising a family or getting a raise. (I personally know at least one former Seattle-area Googler who quit under similar circumstances after being forced to either choose seeing his newborn less, or receive a demotion if he didn’t travel more.)
But is Google really that bad? For those who strive for work-life integration, rather than crave work-life balance, the Google lifestyle seems to truly be a dream. The software engineer I spoke with highlighted that there really are “no hindrances to leave campus, as Google wants to make sure that [it] can provide you with the means to get things done without knocking you out of [the] productivity zone.” Employees can punctuate their day (like he does with salsa classes) and grab food, play a game of pool, or nap as needed. He said that “as an engineer you can get into the zone, but it’s hard to get back into it if you’re knocked out.” He said that at Google, the design of the campus and the company benefits are definitely a “way to get the most out of employees,” allowing Googlers the mental breaks they need to be the most productive.
Google also ensures its employees that it’s not all work, and no play. In fact, this might be the biggest misconception of Google employees. Not only does the office look fun; it is fun. The engineer told me that alcohol is extremely prevalent on campus, complete with several tiki bars. He said that at these bars there are “glasses of wine and scotch available, and if you try hard enough, you can always find alcohol” somewhere on campus.

Drinking? While working? While you might crack a beer on your desk at 4 p.m. on a Friday, drinking is just part of the job at Google. The software engineer even revealed that “some managers even pressure their teams to drink.” Googlers also celebrate a “TGIF” every Friday, where even more booze flows freely. During these sessions, a New York Times best-selling author might speak, or Lady Gaga might perform, with Googlers filling the cafeterias of multiple buildings to listen and watch. Other times, it’s a very casual happy hour that often lasts late into the evening — all while never leaving the cozy confines of their home away from home. Luckily for these Googlers, the Mountain View campus is now starting to serve meals on weekends. (Hangover brunch, anyone?)
Google’s closed doors have cultured an open environment internally that has empowered its employees — at least the ones who can afford to live and breathe the search behemoth — to speak their minds. The problem is that Google is growing in not only in its own power, but in size, and in age. Young, unmarried Googlers can easily choose to work more than those who are older with kids and are being compensated accordingly — which forces those with more tried and proven talent to join other corporations. Google is also losing its agility as it grows — the perks now come with red tape and decisions are harder to make by management. Google is no longer a fun, whimsical startup with a few young kids with big ideas. In fact, some town hall meetings about controversial decisions, such as the Google+ real names policy, get so heated that discussions between other Googlers erupt nearly to the point of physical violence (which is notably not tolerated).

Working at Google is a choice to eat, sleep, and breathe Google. It’s a conscious decision, and also an emotional choice for each employee. While we as consumers, dream-job seekers, and bloggers each feel a specific way about Google, we merely enjoy a Doodle or stress about changes to the algorithm. However, those inside the castle walls feel nothing but Google, and only because of Google.

And while those from both the inside and outside see an office that is, according to that software engineer, “an area that feels organic and free flowing so you don’t feel like a cog in a machine,” that is exactly the antithesis of the culture that Google has bred. While employees rave about the amount of alcohol available, the free food, and the lack of hindrances to leaving campuses — and yet say they are a free moving object — it’s hard to deny that working for Google sounds like being a part of, well, something else.




 

Monday, August 6, 2012

13 Interesting Facts About Google


#1

The prime reason the Google home page is so bare is due to the fact that the founders didn’t know HTML and just wanted a quick interface. In fact it was noted that the submit button was a long time coming and hitting the RETURN key was the only way to burst Google into life.

#2

Due to the sparseness of the homepage, in early user tests they noted people just sitting looking at the screen. After a minute of nothingness, the tester intervened and asked ‘Whats up?’ to which they replied “We are waiting for the rest of it”. To solve that particular problem the Google Copyright message was inserted to act as a crude end of page marker.

#3

One of the biggest leap in search usage came about when they introduced their much improved spell checker giving birth to the “Did you mean…” feature. This instantly doubled their traffic, but they had some interesting discussions on how best to place that information, as most people simply tuned that out. But they discovered the placement at the bottom of the results was the most effective area.

#4

The infamous “I feel lucky” is nearly never used. However, in trials it was found that removing it would somehow reduce the Google experience. Users wanted it kept. It was a comfort button.

#5

Orkut is very popular in Brazil. Orkut was the brainchild of a very intelligent Google engineer who was pretty much given free reign to run with it, without having to go through the normal Google UI procedures, hence the reason it doesn’t look or feel like a Google application. They are looking at improving Orkut to cope with the loads it places on the system.

#6

Google makes changes small-and-often. They will sometimes trial a particular feature with a set of users from a given network subnet; for example Excite@Home users often get to see new features. They aren’t told of this, just presented with the new UI and observed how they use it.

#7

Google has the largest network of translators in the world

#8

They use the 20% / 5% rules. If at least 20% of people use a feature, then it will be included. At least 5% of people need to use a particular search preference before it will make it into the ‘Advanced Preferences’.

#9

They have found in user testing, that a small number of people are very typical of the larger user base. They run labs continually and always monitoring how people use a page of results.

#10

The name ‘Google’ was an accident. A spelling mistake made by the original founders who thought they were going for ‘Googol’

#11

Gmail was used internally for nearly 2years prior to launch to the public. They discovered there was approximately 6 types of email users, and Gmail has been designed to accommodate these 6.

#12

They listen to feedback actively. Emailing Google isn’t emailing a blackhole.

#13

Employees are encouraged to use 20% of their time working on their own projects. Google News, Orkut are both examples of projects that grew from this working model.

Friday, August 26, 2011

About Anna

1. Who is Anna Hazare?
An ex-army man. Fought 1965 Indo-Pak War
 
2. What's so special about him?
  He built a village Ralegaon Siddhi in Ahamad Nagar district, Maharashtra
 
3. So what?
 This village is a self-sustained model village. Energy is produced in the village itself from solar power, biofuel and wind mills.
 
In 1975, it used to be a poverty clad village. Now it is one of the richest village in India. It has become a model for self-sustained,
eco-friendly & harmonic village.
 
4. Ok,...?
 This guy, Anna Hazare was awarded Padma Bhushan and is a known figure for his social activities.
 
5. Really, what is he fighting for?
 He is supporting a cause, the amendment of a law to curb corruption in India.
 
6. How that can be possible?
 He is advocating for a Bil, The Jan Lokpal Bill (The Citizen Ombudsman Bill), that will form an autonomous authority who will make
politicians (ministers), beurocrats (IAS/IPS) accountable for their deeds.
 
8. It's an entirely new thing right..?
 In 1972, the bill was proposed by then Law minister Mr. Shanti Bhushan. Since then it has been neglected by the politicians and some
are trying to change the bill to suit thier theft (corruption).
 
7. Oh.. He is going on a hunger strike for that whole thing of passing a Bill ! How can that be possible in such a short span of time?
 
The first thing he is asking for is: the government should come forward and announce that the bill is going to be passed.
 
Next, they make a joint committee to DRAFT the JAN LOKPAL BILL. 50% goverment participation and 50% public participation. Because you cant trust the government entirely for making such a bill which does not suit them.
 
8. Fine, What will happen when this bill is passed?
 
A LokPal will be appointed at the centre. He will have an autonomous charge, say like the Election Commission of India. In each and every state, Lokayukta will be appointed. The job is to bring all alleged party to trial in case of corruptions within 1 year. Within 2 years, the guilty will be punished. Not like, Bofors scam or Bhopal Gas Tragedy case, that has been going for last 25 years without any result.
 
9. Is he alone? Who else is there in the fight with Anna Hazare?
 Baba Ramdev, Ex. IPS Kiran Bedi, Social Activist Swami Agnivesh, RTI activist Arvind Kejriwal and many more.
 
Prominent personalities like Aamir Khan is supporting his cause.
 
10. Ok, got it. What can I do?
At least we can spread the message.
 
How?
Putting status message, links, video, changing profile pics.
 
At least we can support Anna Hazare and the cause for uprooting corruption from India.
 
At least we can hope that his Hunger Strike does not go in vain.
 
At least we can pray for his good health.
 
 

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Difference between Lokpal vs Jan Lokpal Bill

LOKPAL BILL  JAN LOKPAL BILL 
Government's Lokpal will not have any power to either initiate action suo motu in any case or even receive complaints of corruption from public  The Jan Lokpal proposes full powers to initiate investigations suo motu in any case and also to directly entertain complaints from the public. 
The government wants Lokpal to be an advisory body, which will only forward its enquiry report to the competent authority for action.  The Jan Lokpal Bill proposes powers to initiate prosecution after completion of investigations. 
The government's Lokpal will not have any police powers and it will not be able to register an FIR.   The Jan Lokpal proposes police powers and would be able to register FIR, proceed with criminal investigations and launch prosecution. 
The government's Lokpal won't have powers to investigate any case against PM, which deals with foreign affairs, security and defence.  But the Jan Lokpal Bill proposes no such bar on Lokpal's powers. 
The government's Lokpal will not have jurisdiction over bureaucrats and government officers. Jan Lokpal will have jurisdiction over politicians, officials and even judges. It also proposes merging the entire vigilance machinery into Lokpal.

Monday, July 4, 2011

Corruption in India

To day at least for India corruption is the password, an oft-heard subject of discussions and conversations on all kinds of forums and platforms. The simple layman's definition of corruption is to get a job done in a wrong and unethical way.

Corruption is today a world-wide phenomenon. In our own country some people in high positions lave been charged for it.

A corrupt person is termed immoral, dishonest and unscrupulous in his dealings. His disregard for honesty, righteousness and truth results in his alienation from society. He is treated with contempt. But as erosion of values leads to decadence, remedies for the social malaise remain elusive, and so no amount of contempt can eradicate corruption which is a symptom of decadence.

Corruption is the most virulent when crises everywhere threaten the very existence of the society and the faith in life is shaken. It has always been there like tie leech, but when the system grows weaker and the boat flounders, it gets bolder and drains its victims of the last drops of their blood.

The older the system the weaker it grows and fails to solve the riddles of life that grows more complex every day. So men lose faith in it and let it drift down. At this point corruption takes over and plunges the entire society. After Second World War the old system with all its values was left in a shambles. The crippling effects of the war, the recession and depression, and uncertainties in a faithless world of maimed and moribund encouraged cynicism in a section of the population.

This section included the government officials dealing in essential commodities. They found the post-war conditions ideal for fishing in troubled waters and jetting richer. They formed a sort of vicious circle in which moral values and honest intentions no longer held valid. The flourishing black market in essential commodities, adulteration of even baby- food, bribery, fraud and economic, political and administrative manipulations with an eye on earning profits has brought untold misery to the people.

One would say the corruption in India has an ancient lineage; it is sanctified by tradition. The author of the Arthasastra made some remarks on government officials of his time which are relevant even today: "Just as it is impossible not to taste the honey or the poison that finds itself at the tip of the tongue, so it is impossible for a government servant not to eat up at least a bit of the king's revenue. These in the post­war world became only bolder while eating up government money and accepting bribes.

Today, when India is free, these officials representing all government departments are very close to the most corrupt businessmen who are too unscrupulous to let any opportunity of amassing profits slip. This collusion broadens the base of the vicious circle and corruption spreads 'like wild fire to engulf the entire society. The political and social guardians depend only too much on the richer communities and they look indulgently on while these communities hold the entire society and the government to ransom.

Corruption starts at the top and percolates down to the whole society. Such corruption cannot be confined to the towns alone. It is as widespread in the villages where the dishonest officials and the traders carry the germs of the disease. The tyranny of confusion and price rules the land and the people are helpless victims of corruption everywhere.

Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Top 15 Most Popular Websites



June 2011

Here are the 15 Most Popular Sites (English Language) as derived from our eBizMBA Rank which is a constantly updated average of each website's Alexa Global Traffic Rank, and U.S. Traffic Rank from both Compete and Quantcast. "*#*" Denotes an estimate for sites with data, but no Compete rank, or sites with limited Quantcast data.

1
Google

1 - eBizMBA Rank
650,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
1 - Compete Rank
1 - Quantcast Rank
1 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA

2
Facebook

2 - eBizMBA Rank
550,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
3 - Compete Rank
2 - Quantcast Rank
2 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA

3
Yahoo!

3 - eBizMBA Rank
450,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
2 - Compete Rank
3 - Quantcast Rank
4 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA


4
YouTube

4 - eBizMBA Rank
400,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
4 - Compete Rank
4 - Quantcast Rank
3 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA
5
Wikipedia

7 - eBizMBA Rank
350,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
6 - Compete Rank
7 - Quantcast Rank
7 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA

6
msn

8 - eBizMBA Rank
325,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
8 - Compete Rank
6 - Quantcast Rank
11 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA
7
amazon

10 - eBizMBA Rank
250,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
9 - Compete Rank
7 - Quantcast Rank
15 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA

8
ebay

13 - eBizMBA Rank
210,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
8 - Compete Rank
11 - Quantcast Rank
21 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA


9
Twitter

15 - eBizMBA Rank
180,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
30 - Compete Rank
5 - Quantcast Rank
9 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA

10
bing

17 - eBizMBA Rank
165,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
13 - Compete Rank
16 - Quantcast Rank
22 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA

11
Craigslist

19 - eBizMBA Rank
150,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
12 - Compete Rank
15 - Quantcast Rank
31 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA

12
WordPress

21 - eBizMBA Rank
140,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
21 - Compete Rank
23 - Quantcast Rank
19 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA

13
Aol

25 - eBizMBA Rank
130,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
16 - Compete Rank
10 - Quantcast Rank
48 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA

14
ask

26 - eBizMBA Rank
125,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
11 - Compete Rank
14 - Quantcast Rank
52 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA

15
LinkedIn

33 - eBizMBA Rank
100,000,000 - Estimated Unique Monthly Visitors
57 - Compete Rank
26 - Quantcast Rank
17 - Alexa Rank.

The Most Popular Websites
Updated 6/1/2011
eBizMBA

Monday, June 20, 2011

2 Sure-fire Ways to Make Money Online

One of the most irritating topics that people seem to want to talk about ad nauseum is how to make money online. Frankly, I’m sick and tired of reading horrible advice on this subject, and I’m even more sick and tired of responding to people’s questions about Google AdSense, which is quite literally the worst monetization service of all time for people who don’t have millions of pageviews per month. In other words, AdSense ain’t gonna work for you, cowboy.


To rectify this abominable confluence of bad info and terrible services, I’m going to clue you in on two sure-fire ways you can actually make real, spendable, negotiable cash from your Website. Not surprisingly, both methods of earning money involve actual products, and while not necessarily falling under the “easy” category, they both find their roots in the “no bullshit” category, which I happen to love.

Method One: Sell Your Own Product

It’s no coincidence that the best way to make money offline also happens to be the best way to make money online. Selling your own product and living by the objective economic laws of supply and demand is by far the best way to generate cash and to protect yourself from all the crap that goes on in the world.

Unless you live under a rock, you’re probably aware of the fact that the US stock market is currently tanking. However, if you own a business and sell your own product, this shouldn’t make any difference to you. After all, you’re selling a product that has a nice demand behind it; you support your customers; and you’re still making sales and forging your place in the market.

Best of all, selling a product online has tons of ancillary benefits:












  • You’re insulated from Google to some degree, so “big brother” can kiss your sweet ass. You literally own a piece of the market, and your vertical will persist regardless of Google’s opinion or influence (or anyone else’s, for that matter).

  • You get to build your business by developing your product and responding to the marketplace, and the Internet is the most feedback-oriented marketplace there is. Talk about a harmonious situation—I hear doves chirping and violins playing in the background when I even think about this.

  • You don’t need to compromise your site – or your users – with ads. Even beautiful ads are ugly, and given the choice, I don’t think anyone who would choose to fill up the real estate on their Website with someone else’s crap when they could be using the same space to promote their own stuff. You want absolute control over every pixel of your site while still making money? You need to sell your own product, my friend.

Now, I realize that not everyone has their own product to sell, so from the perspective of ubiquitous application, this isn’t a great solution. Fortunately, this is where the second sure-fire moneymaking method picks up the slack.

Method Two: Affiliate Product Sales

If selling your own product is the best way to make money online, then it should come as no surprise that selling someone else’s product is the second best way to make money online. In nerdy marketing circles, this practice is known as affiliate sales, and there are tons of average Joes out there who are doing this and making sustainable incomes.

As for the people who are a little more clever than the average Joe?

They’re making a killing.

If you want to find success as an affiliate marketer, the “secret” is simply to pimp a product that you not only use, but also genuinely like. The more knowledgeable and transparent you are, the better you’ll do; but if you can only be one thing, be genuine.

There are countless affiliate programs available online, so which one should you promote? The short answer here is to promote as many programs as it makes sense to promote! For instance, as a Web developer, I routinely deal with a few merchants who also offer affiliate programs:

aMember — payment and subscription software that I use to manage my customer database on DIYthemes, my WordPress theme marketplace

vbSEO — a clever collection of PHP scripts that turns vBulletin forum software into an SEO powerhouse

MidPhase and ANhosting — Shared server Web hosting for smaller sites

VPS.net — Virtual private server for larger, more demanding sites that require extra perks like CDN and professional caching (this is how I roll here on Pearsonified)

Given the nature of my work, it makes perfect sense for me to promote these programs wherever appropriate. Now, I don’t really go nuts with these promos, but then again, I’m by no means a hardcore affiliate marketer. Despite this, 7% of my income in 2007 came from affiliate sales, so I’m living proof that even a half-assed effort in this area can produce a decent return.

How About a Hot New Affiliate Program?

If the dating game has taught me anything, it’s that hot and new are always fun, at least for a little while. Interestingly, the affiliate marketing industry exhibits a similar trend—new programs will get hot, generate tons of cash for those involved, and then slowly level off or die out depending on the quality of the product.

Today, I’m pleased to announce the new DIYthemes affiliate program, which I’ve opened in collaboration with Brian Clark of Copyblogger (and affiliate marketing) fame. Brian is literally the most genuine, transparent, and intelligent marketer I’ve ever met, so obviously, getting him on my team for this one was a no-brainer. He knows what it takes to be a successful affiliate, and I wouldn’t have bothered to open this program unless I knew I could help a lot of people kick ass.

We’re paying out 33% commissions, and based on initial sales and user testimonials from our flagship WordPress theme, this program is going to be hot.

So seriously, head on over to DIYthemes, sign up for the affiliate program, and replace that damn AdSense already. What have you got to lose, two dollars… this month?



Believe in Yourself......

U want & U get... That is luck....

U want & U wait...That is time...
U want but U compromise...That's life...
&
U want, U wait & U dont compromise...
That is Success!!!
" Success is Never Permanent....Failure is never Final "
So always do not stop trying
Let's hope for the BEST!

Thursday, May 26, 2011

Indian Black Money in Swiss Bank Account

Dear all,


Latest update after Swiss Bank has agreed to disclose the funds

Our Indians' Money - 70, 00,000 Crores Rupees In Swiss Bank

1) Yes, 70 lakhs crores rupees of India are lying in Switzerland banks. This is the highest amount lying outside any country, from amongst 180 countries of the world, as if India is the champion of Black Money.

2) Swiss Government has officially written to Indian Government that they are willing to inform the details of holders of 70 lakh crore rupees in their Banks, if Indian Government officially asks them.

3) On 22-5-08, this news has already been published in The Times of India and other Newspapers based on Swiss Government's official letter to Indian Government.

4) But the Indian Government has not sent any official enquiry to Switzerland for details of money which has been sent outside India between 1947 to 2008.. The opposition party is also equally not interested in doing so because most of the amount is owned by politicians and it is every Indian's money.

5) This money belongs to our country. From these funds we can repay 13 times of our country's foreign debt. The interest alone can take care of the Center s yearly budget. People need not pay any taxes and we can pay Rs. 1 lakh to each of 45 crore poor families.

6) Let us imagine, if Swiss Bank is holding Rs. 70 lakh Crores, then how much money is lying in other 69 Banks? How much they have deprived the Indian people? Just think, if the Account holder dies, the bank becomes the owner of the funds in his account.

7) Are these people totally ignorant about the philosophy of Karma? What will this ill-gotten wealth do to them and their families when they own/use such money, generated out of corruption and exploitation?

8) Indian people have read and have known about these facts. But the helpless people have neither time nor inclination to do anything in the matter. This is like "a new freedom struggle" and we will have to fight this.

9) This money is the result of our sweat and blood.. The wealth generated and earned after putting in lots of mental and physical efforts by Indian people must be brought back to our country.

10) As a service to our motherland and your contribution to this struggle,please circulate at least 10 copies of this note amongst your friends and relatives and convert it into a mass movement.

Deposits In Swiss Bank ~

Top 5
India---- $1891 billion
Russia----- $610 billion
China------ $213 billion
UK-------- $210 billion
Ukraine ----------- $140 billion
Rest of the world ----$300 billion



India may be poor, but Indians are rich!


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